Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books

(More Optional Below)
Min Max
by amazon.com

Sponsors
Free Shipping

Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books

Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books
Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books
Overall Rating : 4.7 4.5 Star Rating (50)

Now Price :  (( CHECK IT NOW ))lowest price
Add to Cart:         

Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books


Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books
Rating 4.5 out of 5 ( 50 ratings )
10+ user reviews.

Product Details

Editorial Reviews

Review

"If there ever was a book subtly designed to seduce readers into a jewelry-making career, British artist Young's is it. And if slipcased with her first book, The Workbench Guide to Jewelry Techniques (2010), it would be half of an excellent map to the workings and how-to's of the business...Sparkling, and with substance." - Barbara Jacobs, Booklist

"I was very surprised at the amount of information covered for the size of the book. It really is packed with information! And there are all kinds of gorgeous jewelry pieces shown through, whether as examples of the projects in the book or as inspirational pieces or variations on techniques used." - Tammy Powley, About.com Guide to Jewelry Making

"If you're a gem geek like me, or if you just appreciate the interest and pretty pops of color and/or texture that gemstones can add to your jewelry designs, you'll enjoy Anastasia Young's new book, Gemstone Settings." - Tammy Jones, editor, JewelryMakingDaily.com

"A great how-to guide for adding a variety of stones to your jewelry work - in everything from metal clay, traditional metals, resin, and even mixed media jewelry creations." - Stacie Hooder, CraftGossip.com

"Looking for some new ways to use gemstones in your jewelry-making projects? Check out the new book Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles and Techniques. You'll find information about how to use your favorite gemstones (and a few new ones!) in beautiful, architectural metal jewelry designs. Learn how to set gemstones in prong settings, bezel settings and grain settings, and with so many valuable references about popular gemstones, step-by-step instructions for making your own gemstone settings and basic fabrication techniques, this is one jewelry making book that you'll refer to time and again." – Beading Dailey

"Experienced jewelry makers will consider this a useful reference to creating jewelry with precious and semiprecious stones." – Library Journal

About the Author

Anastasia Young is the author of the best-selling book The Workbench Guide to Jewelry Techniques (Interweave). She is a practicing designer, jeweler, and artist whose work has been exhibited internationally. Young is a graduate of the Royal College of Art and Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in London and lives in England.
Cec
I highly recommend it to any aspiring jeweler, and even for seasoned jewelers - there is something for everyone.
D. Coren

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

85 of 89 people found the following review helpful By AmatureMetalsmith on March 21, 2012
Format: Hardcover Amazon Verified Purchase
Just received Gemstone Settings last week, before promised date. Quickly flipped through and was excited to see excellent pictures and layout. I've been metalsmithing for 5 years so moved rapidly through the tools, gems, etc. overviews. Then got to the meat of the book. The introductions are laid out quite nicely, it's as you start to look for more details on fabricating the settings that the book starts to disappoint. At one point there is a good pictorial description of cold connections, but I bought the book for gem settings. I also have John Cogswell's "Creative Stonesetting" which is a wonderful book. Has very good verbal descriptions, but lacks the pictorial set-by-step. Frankly, its a bit beyond me and was looking for something more accessible. As an intermediate metalsmith, what I really long for is a book that doesn't start at the beginning steps and then stay there for a third of the pages. Certainly describe specialized tools, etc. for the particular subject matter; but I think its highly unlikely that someone is picking up a book on settings as an introduction to metalsmithing. You've probably done bezel settings and perhaps tube and are looking to build technique. Gemstone Settings was on the right track with photos and layout, but falls short in guiding you to new technique. Too bad it doesn't deliver on its potential.
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful By Terri B. Riley on March 14, 2012
Format: Hardcover Amazon Verified Purchase
While this book is full of information and beautiful pictures, I did not find it to be an in-depth study of gem-setting at all, as it was described to be. Perhaps if one is already an experienced jeweler, the lack of detail in showing/describing various procedures would not be a problem, but then I question why an experienced jeweler would be buying this book. In my opinion, the book tries to cover too much material and as a result, is skimpy on much-needed details regarding actual procedures. I am keeping the book as ultimately I'm sure I will find it helpful, particularly in the area of individual gemstone descriptions/traits, and because of the beautiful photography included, but the book will not be useful to me for learning in-depth procedures regarding gem-setting. It is a good overview of various techniques, but I need something truly in-depth. I feel the description of the book is very misleading.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful By Reading It AllVINE VOICE on June 11, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Let me preface this review with a little about the author. Anastasia Young is from London, a graduate of the Royal College of Art and a working Designer and Jeweler. You may remember her previous publication for Interweave, The Workbench Guide to Jewelry Techniques.

There are a lot of gem setting books on the market but what I think sets this one apart is not so much the techniques pages but the chapters surrounding them.

The book is divided into four chapters...in Chapter One Young looks at design - the process (from inspiration to sketch) - the history of gem set jewels - the process of stone selection and what goes into choosing THE stone - Outsourcing complicated or tedious portions of a project - and the "how to's" of taking commissions.

Chapter Two - is all about the Gems - a fairly comprehensive Gemstone Directory with information covering availability, common treatments, care and handling of each stone.

Chapter Four - is the Reference material - measurement conversion charts - ring size charts and Mohs Scale. This section includes detailed diagrams of stone cuts and templates for settings.

....last but certainly not least - the Chapter the book is all about the Techniques Directory. This chapter begins with an in depth look at the tools used to set and finished with almost 150 pages of various tube setting to styles. Over 50 settings are covered from prongs to fancy settings that cover Tension and Cage setting.

With a Suggested Retail of $29.99 this book is well worth the expense and would be most ideally used by a student who picks it up to supplement a workshop or course.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful By CP in texas on March 16, 2012
Format: Hardcover Amazon Verified Purchase
I received this book two days ago, and it has been such a pleasure to read it. I am sure this is now one of my favorite jewelry books. It has beautiful pictures, and the content is just perfect for my necessities at a very good price. This is the book I was looking for, since I realized my attraction for gemstone setting. It is not a beginner metalsmithing book, and I am glad, there is some information about the basic techniques, but it is not the repetitive pattern used on most books with 1/3 of the content describing the same very basic information. I like the chapter covering the gemstones types, it has beautiful pictures and excellent description, however I wished it was included pricing information, to compare them with some cost information. The techniques described are just what I want to learn, and the author selected beautiful and very convenient pieces that appealed my taste and show how the technique can create a beautiful piece of art. I really love the examples used, and the gallery used in this book. Even though I can understand the techniques, I wished it was included a little more in-depth detailed description for the more advanced techniques. In general I appreciate the work done on this book, and I am so glad I bought it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
See all 50 customer reviews (newest first)
Write a customer review

Published 1 month ago by Meri Saunders

I absolutely agree with others - the book is beautiful, has very nice arrangement and the pictures but as soon as you need the detailed description of the techniques, that's it,... Read more

Published 1 month ago by lena

I gave this 5 starts because I think this an awesome book that every jeweler should own. I have been making jewelry for about 3 years now and I love that this book can help brand... Read more

Published 1 month ago by labstract

The book came in the mail fast in GREAT shape and love all the info and photos. All my friends like to barrow it.

Published 3 months ago by rego925

Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow take a bow thank you I'm a fan forever Generationally appealing I can't tell you how this broadened my horizons . Read more

Published 4 months ago by mlaila1

If left to my own peace and quiet I can learn from books and DVDs. This is a must have book of you want to progress from basic to wow. I LOVED THIS, take it one step at a time. Read more

Published 5 months ago by ozziemum

The perfect gift for my daughter after graduating from GIA. A lovely, informative guide in creating precious stone settings with style. Read more

Published 6 months ago by Global Grandma
Search
 


Customer reviews

This product was added to our catalog on 09 September, 2011.


Chloe Davis
(Maine , United States)

The quality of this Gemstone Settings: The is incredible.



Valentina Brown
(Mississippi , USA)

We just purchased Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry and are incredibly pleased with the quality.



Jacob Bell
(North Carolina , United States)

I usually study and analysis and investigation a key purchase before I buy. I've been looking for a quality Gemstone Settings: The for about six months, finally I got it.



Olivia Nelson
(Massachusetts , United States)

I got this as a gift. I really like Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books so much.



Alexander Smith
(Georgia , USA)

Let me say if I want to make decision today, I will probably buy this Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's



This "Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books" is popular in USA by TOP seaching! Regional interest rank of these Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books as follow:
Delaware is the second rank of searching in United States.

Washington is the third rank of searching in United States.

Maine is the forth rank of searching in United States.

Alabama is the fifth rank of searching in United States.

New Mexico is the sixth rank of searching in United States.

Mississippi is the seventh rank of searching in United States.

Wisconsin is the eighth rank of searching in United States.

New Hampshire is the ninth rank of searching in United States.

Alaska is the tenth rank of searching in United States.

California is the eleventh rank of searching in United States.

Illinois is the twelfth rank of searching in United States.

Connecticut is the thirteenth rank of searching in United States.

Idaho is the fourteenth rank of searching in United States.

North Carolina is the fifteenth rank of searching in United States.

Minnesota is the sixteenth rank of searching in United States.

Grab this Deal »
Wе already done thе investigate аnԁ waste a lot οf time fοr уου. Click Here tο find out whеrе tο ɡеt thе best deal οn Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books
*Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time of posting and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the merchant's web site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of Gemstone Settings: The Jewelry Maker's Guide to Styles & Techniques: Anastasia Young: 9781596686366: Books.

Customers who bought this product also purchased...

You may also be interested in the following product(s)


.......... Time used : 0.389356851578
Memory used : 2.25 mb
Peak memory : 2.14 mb
















eXTReMe Tracker