The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books

(More Optional Below)
Min Max
by amazon.com

Sponsors
Free Shipping

The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books

The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books
The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books
Overall Rating : 4.3 4.5 Star Rating (44)

Now Price :  (( CHECK IT NOW ))lowest price
Add to Cart:         

The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books


The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books
Rating 4.5 out of 5 ( 44 ratings )
10+ user reviews.

Product Details

Editorial Reviews

Review

"This is exactly the kind of book I've come to expect from Jinks McGrath: a thorough, creative, useful, easy-to-navigate, and beautiful text."


--Addie Kidd, Art Jewelry Magazine, March 2009

From the Inside Flap

(back cover)
This is a complete course in designing and making jewelry. Carefully structured tutorials guide you through every stage of the process, revealing how to translate inspired ideas into workable, wearable designs. You'll also find professional advice on presenting and selling your work.

Learn about tools, equipment, and safe working practices; build an inspiration file; understand how to select suitable materials and transfer your designs; find out how to work with precious and semi-precious stones, metals, glass, plastic, resin, and wood.

Clear, step-by-step photographs demonstrate all the techniques you'll need, from manipulating materials by heating, hammering, and casting to methods of soldering, riveting, polishing, finishing, and adding surface decoration.

At-a-glance panels explain the effect that different techniques have on a variety of metals, and practical exercises provide guidance in tricky skills--with ideas for tryping them out on inexpensive substitutes before using your chosen materials.

Jinks McGrath is a jeweler and teacher whose designs have been exhibited and collected for many years. She is the author of several previously published books on jewelry making. She lives and works in East Sussex, England.

The book starts with an overview of tools (types of tools and how to use them, their care and maintenance) and materials (a lot of information about working with various metals and their properties). There are also tips on where to look for design ideas and how to evaluate and translate your ideas into designs you can use.

The next section includes thirty-four units on various facets of jewelry making - annealing, soldering, bending, polishing and finishing, using a draw plate, texturing, and more. Each of these units is broken down into tips and how-tos - with lots of photos to supplement the text. The section on annealing has several tips plus some practice lessons in annealing wire and sheet metal.

The final section of the book has a series of six projects that bring together all of the techniques you've been exploring in some neat designs - a ring, an etched bangle, and a textured pendant for example.

I highly recommend this book - I use it as a ready reference. This is a great reference book for a beginning jewelry maker.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
116 of 127 people found the following review helpful By Althea L. Turner on October 12, 2008
Format: Paperback
I ordered this book with Nicola Hurst's "Step-by-Step Jewelry Workshop" and was very disappointed to find that they were nearly identical.
They used the same photographs and right down to some of the same text.

For example, on page 11 of McGrath a section on Finding Inspiration is exactly the same text as Hurst's pg 21. And there are many more instances of being exactly the same book with different covers.

Neither books are bad, but don't buy them both. In fact, find another less sleazy publisher than Quarto Books to provide your needs.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
49 of 51 people found the following review helpful By Dupree on May 2, 2008
Format: Paperback Amazon Verified Purchase
This is a relatively good place to start metalsmithing if you have some knowledge of jewelry making. I'm very new using and forming metals, but I have been doing wirework and beading techniques for over five years. At some point beaders often have a desire to move on. This was a good choice for me when that time came. I am well pleased with this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Laura Dulski on October 7, 2010
Format: Paperback Amazon Verified Purchase
I have taken a beginning level jewelry making course and find Jinks McGrath's book to be a very useful supplement to classwork. It is particularly good on setting up a studio, identifying needed tools and purchasing or ordering materials. The soldering and bezel-making information interested me most and the book is very thorough in that respect. Other areas very well-covered are design and the related topic of measuring to achieve design aspirations. Finally, the work pictured throughout is lovely and inspiring, with nothing tacky or tasteless included. I like this manual very much and feel that it delivers exactly what the title promises.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By E. Jeffrey on February 26, 2012
Format: Paperback Amazon Verified Purchase
I gave this book three stars for one reason. It has good pictures. It is not, however, in depth, or in anyway "complete" with regards to step by step instructions for each technique discussed. It is more a severely abridged version of how-to instructions. I am currently taking a jewelry-making/metal-working class and I bought this book and The Work Bench Guide to Jewelry Techniques by Anastasia Young (which is much more thorough) for supplemental reading as I went through the class and half-way through it, I quit reading it and now just look at the pictures for inspiration. It does have good resources cited and the information about types of metal and jewels and how they are graded, measured, and priced is adequate. But if you want a step by step how-to book, this is NOT it. My notes from class are more complete. And frankly, metal is too expensive to be guessing your way through.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Anya Z on November 22, 2008
Format: Paperback
this book will work for anyone wanting an overall concise introduction to the art of jewelry making. personally,
it was not the book i was looking for - i tend to balk at anything too technical. i do have a friend, however,
who took the book right out of my hands and is loving it. if you are of the nature to do things in an orderly and precise fashion, you will get a lot out of this book: clear direction and helpful illustrations of all techniques.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful By Kandie Berridge on May 21, 2008
Format: Paperback
Maybe I already own too many jewelry instruction books but this is my least favorite. There are only a few projects in the back and I don't really find them all that inspiring. I do think the bezel setting section was very thorough - maybe more so than other books I have.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
41 of 53 people found the following review helpful By judyevelyn on November 20, 2007
Format: Paperback Amazon Verified Purchase
Very worthwhile for serious artist beginning mtalwork. This is not for a "beader" type of hobbyist. Lovely book, well represented, well laid out, instructions clear, pictures good.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Search


Customer reviews

This product was added to our catalog on 09 September, 2011.


Alexander Howard
(Texas , United States)

I would like to say, for my first The Complete Jewelry Making, I am extremely happy. Not only was shipping super fast, but this The Complete Jewelry Making is everything I expected and more.



Steve Torres
(Missouri , United States)

Mum loves this The Complete Jewelry. She said it worked great.



Camila Collins
(Pennsylvania , United States)

My old had a water damage, and i replaced it with this.



Kevin Rogers
(North Carolina , USA)

I purchased The Complete Jewelry Making Course: for Christmas. Great price and came with a low price guarantee which saved me dollars.



Victoria Morales
(South Dakota , USA)

This is a great "The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books" for the price. I really enjoy using it since it is well designed.



This "The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books" is popular in USA by TOP seaching! Regional interest rank of these The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books as follow:
Virginia is the second rank of searching in United States.

Idaho is the third rank of searching in United States.

Montana is the forth rank of searching in United States.

Maine is the fifth rank of searching in United States.

Tennessee is the sixth rank of searching in United States.

Massachusetts is the seventh rank of searching in United States.

Nevada is the eighth rank of searching in United States.

Oregon is the ninth rank of searching in United States.

Connecticut is the tenth rank of searching in United States.

Rhode Island is the eleventh rank of searching in United States.

Minnesota is the twelfth rank of searching in United States.

Illinois is the thirteenth rank of searching in United States.

Washington is the fourteenth rank of searching in United States.

Kentucky is the fifteenth rank of searching in United States.

Texas is the sixteenth rank of searching in United States.

Grab this Deal »
Wе already done thе investigate аnԁ waste a lot οf time fοr уου. Click Here tο find out whеrе tο ɡеt thе best deal οn The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books
*The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time of posting and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the merchant's web site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers: Jinks McGrath: 9780764136603: Books.

Customers who bought this product also purchased...

You may also be interested in the following product(s)


..........
Time used : 0.424056053162
Memory used : 2.5 mb
Peak memory : 2.27 mb
















eXTReMe Tracker